AROMATHERAPY

What is Aromatherapy?

Aromatherapy is the art of healing with essential oils (EO) to harmonize the health of the physical body and of the mind.

We use essential oils to strengthen the natural processes of self-healing. It is a natural method that is based on the biochemical molecular activity of the chemotyped EO.

 

A bit of History

In the Occidental part of the world… In 1910, in a laboratory in Lyon, the chemist René-Maurice Gattefossé burnt his hand in an explosion. The classic treatments were given to him for a long duration without providing any good results.

The healing did not work well – it was slow, the pain intense and the wound became infected over and over. Eventually, he became afflicted with gangrene.

Tired by the pain and problems caused by these treatments, he decides to apply essential oil of lavender on his hand. Miraculously, the pain goes away nearly instantaneously! The infection is eliminated, and the healing is rapid. It is a result that was not expected by the doctors, as the natural products were not used much during this time.

 

In December 1935, Gattefossé brought to the Occidental world the word “aromatherapy,” which refers to therapies carried out with essential oils.

He received the recognition of naming an art that goes even very further back in history. Indeed, some alembics were found in excavations, dating back 5000 years in Sumer. They were used for the distillation of essential oils.

India also started to use essential oils thousands of years ago, as is detailed in the ancient texts of the Vedas.

In Europe, nevertheless, some rough episodes such as the plague, served to remind the practitioners of Occidental medicine of distillation methods taught by the Arabs, which proved useful during this period.

Ultimately, Gattefossé and Valnet, a French doctor, brought back to light the ancient practices of aromatherapy, during the events of the two World Wars of the 20th century.

In the 21st century, this way of curing took on a huge dimension and magnitude. A lot of scientific papers and investigations are made on aromatherapy today. This branch of healthcare has grown significantly and now requires more practitioners around the world.

Here we are with our small bottles of essential oils as inheritance from our ancestors, ready to heal the scratches at home, to heal the victims of cancer, borreliosis, chicken pox, also to be used for emotional and psychic purposes, and even spiritual and energetic ailments.

 

Healing emotional, psychic, spiritual pains can also be done through plants and through their essential oils. The body communicates with these natural substances. They are the language of the plant, communicating with living beings of different kingdoms. The human body knows to recognize what it is designed for as a symbiont.

 

It would seem that Life loves life...

The first main commonality of all essential oils is that they serve to reduce stress. They decrease the impact of everything that is perceived as a danger. Indeed, so much information, emotions, solicitations attack today’s urban man who has the tendency to classify them as being dangers. While, this should not be always the case...

The Aromatherapy and the scratches of the soul

In nature, animals and plants are always alert. They have to constantly decide what is really a threat to their life and what is not. Otherwise, they would die of stress in no time.

Human beings have a little tendency of falling into the trap of reacting as if everything were a danger.

We must respect our schedules with deadlines at work, at home, we must always fix little things at home (the bedroom light, the bathroom curtain, the door ring bell, etc.), we must do the shopping for the weekend, we must clean the flat before the visits, we must, we must, we must… or maybe not. Too often, we uselessly put too much pressure on our shoulders than may be necessary.

 

All those demands are normal. If we could only perceive as alerts the ones that are really important, for which we are really late or in danger, we would live much more peacefully. Above all, we would live much closer to what we are meant to be, and closer to what Mother Nature made us for.

After all, we are super predators, supposedly as peaceful as a cat. Rather than this, we are in fact super preys, as stressed as a mouse. Nature, through its scents and signals, helps us to go back to our natural state.

 

“Symbiont”            symbiosis: In harmony with all.

Nature offers us a lot of anti-stress essential oils. Moreover, as a significant benefit, each plant reduces our ailments differently the one from the other. When we think of anti-stress, we think of lounging in an armchair, but this is not the only way it should be considered. With aromatherapy, a wide choice of plants help to relax us as well as to heal us.

Where do the essential oils come from?

 

In vegetal biology, the products produced by the plants are subdivided into two groups of molecules – the primary metabolites and the secondary metabolites, as detailed below:

  • The molecules of the first group are in every vegetal cell. They are primary in that they are necessary to the life of the plant. For example: sugars, lipids, proteins, and amino acids.

  • The molecules of the second group have only a limited repartition within the plant and are not part of the base material of the cell. These compounds are normally found only in tissues and particular organs that are in specific stages of development. They are secondary in that they don’t seem to be essential to the growth of the vegetal cell but their action is decisive to the adaptation of the plant to its natural environment: protective agents against physical stress, defense against external threats, pigmentation of the plant to catch the sun’s energy or on the contrary, to protect the organism against the negative effects of the sun radiation.

There are 3 main classes of secondary metabolites, as follows:

  • The alkaloids, like morphine, caffeine, nicotine, cocaine, atropine

  • The terpenes: the largest category of the secondary metabolites, with more than 22,000 molecules. It consists of vegetal hormones, pigments, sterols, glycosides and a large number of essential oils

  • The phenolic substances, also known as “aromatic compounds,” such as the flavonoids, tannins, lignin, and coumarins​.

The essential oils and essences are then secondary metabolites belonging mainly to the terpenes but also to the class of aromatic compounds. Currently, we know about 3,000 essential oils, and among them about 350 are intensively commercialized, mainly for the pharmaceutical, aromatherapy, cosmetic and perfumery industries.

The biological functions of the EO are many:

  • Ecologic functions for the plant and its environment, thanks to its action against the herbivores,

  • Pollinating, attracting insects capable of pollinating,

  • Insecticides to keep danger away,

  • Therapeutics for the health and well-being of humans and animals, such as those below:

    • They are often used for their anti-bacterial, anti-viral, anti-fungal and anti-parasitic properties,

    • For their anti-inflammatory properties against muscular and tendinous issues,

    • For their sedative and tonic properties against troubles related to the dysfunction of the nervous system.

 

Thus, their use in the cosmetic field is very large. The agricultural field is more and more interested by what essential oils have to offer with respect to food storage. Veterinary medicine also benefits from essential oils to help the animals that face nowadays higher infections risks due to their breeding conditions.​

CONCLUSION

Aromatherapy is a great art, and a wonderful science, both efficient and useful. It enables us to heal some infections that hard to fight with the tools of conventional medicine. It is also nevertheless complementary with conventional medicine,  supporting it to calm the secondary effects of the indispensable medication.

It can treat quite a lot of those so-called daily scratches. One or two days of class, if they are given by a good teacher, can enable anyone to safely heal some infections for oneself or within the family, even in children.

 

Aromatherapy enables a holistic care that includes the physical, emotional, psychic, and spiritual dimensions of a human being.

Plants share their benefits through their essential oils by a direct chemical interaction as by their energy.

The EO is one of the means of expression used by the plant, one of the foundations of its language. We receive, through them, a help from Nature that we must have the gratitude to enjoy it rightly. Let’s properly and gratefully use what the planet offers to nurture us!

Conference on essential oils, done by Dr Jean-Pierre Willem, doctor and surgeon, founder of the humanitarian assciation "Les Médecins aux Pieds Nus".

 

He also has published many books on the topic of essential oils.

AROMATHÉRAPIE

Qu'est-ce que l'Aromathérapie 

L’aromathérapie, est l’art de soigner par les huiles essentielles (HE) pour l’harmonisation de la santé physique et mentale.

On utilise les HE pour renforcer le processus naturel d’autoguérison. C’est une méthode naturelle qui repose sur l’activité des molécules biochimiques des HE chémotypées.

 

Un peu d'histoire 

Dans le monde occidental, en 1910 dans un laboratoire de Lyon, le chimiste René-Maurice Gattefossé se brûle la main dans une explosion. Les soins classiques durent longtemps sans vraiment apporter de résultat. La guérison se fait mal, la cicatrisation est lente, les douleurs sont intenses et la plaie se surinfecte. Il est frappé par la gangrène gazeuse.

Lassé par la durée des douleurs et des problèmes, il décide d’appliquer de l’huile essentielle de Lavande officinale sur sa main. Miracle, la douleur diminue presque instantanément! L’infection est éradiquée et la cicatrisation est rapide.

C'est un résultat auquel les médecins ne s’attendaient pas. Encore moins avec un produit naturel qu’ils utilisaient peu. Vingt cinq ans plus tard, en décembre 1935, il apportait au monde occidental le mot «aromathérapie»: soins effectués avec des huiles essentielles.

Il eut l'honneur de nommer un art qui remonte pourtant beaucoup plus loin dans l’histoire. Des alambics de distillation d’huiles essentielles ont été retrouvés dans des fouilles datant de 5'000 ans en Sumérie.

L’Inde aussi utilisait des huiles essentielles il y a des milliers d’années, comme cela est décrit dans les vedas les plus anciens.

En Europe pourtant, il aura fallu des épisodes comme la peste pour se rappeler que la distillation que les Arabes ont apprise aux Européens était digne d’intérêt.

Après quoi ce furent Gattefossé dont nous avons déjà parlé et Valnet, un médecin français, avec les deux guerres mondiales qui remirent l’aromathérapie en selle.

Au 21e siècle, cette manière de traiter a pris une ampleur immense, beaucoup d’expérience et un emploi mondial.

Nous voici avec nos fioles en héritage, prêts à guérir des bobos à la maison, à soigner des patients atteints de cancer, de borréliose ou de varicelle ou bien à des emplois plus émotionnels et psychiques, voir même spirituels et énergétiques.

 

Soigner au niveau émotionnel, psychique, voire spirituel est aussi du ressort des plantes et de leurs huiles essentielles. Le corps semble ici aussi communiquer avec ces substances naturelles. Elles sont le langage de la plante vis-à-vis d’êtres vivants de différents règnes. Le corps humain sait donc reconnaître ce pour quoi il est conçu en tant que symbiote. Il semblerait que la vie aime la vie…

Le premier trait d’union entre toutes les huiles essentielles est qu’elles déstressent. Elles diminuent l’impact de tout ce qui est perçu en tant que message d’alerte. Tant d’informations, tant d’émotions, tant de sollicitations assaillent l’homo citadinus qu’il a tendance à tout classer comme danger. Et pourtant tel n’est pas le cas.

L'Aromathérapie et les Bobos de l'Âme 

Dans la nature, les animaux et les plantes sont sollicités de toutes parts par des mouvements de branches, des déplacements d’animaux. Ils doivent trier entre ce qui représente effectivement une menace et ce qui n’en est pas une. Sinon, ils mourraient de stress en un rien de temps.

L’homme a une petite tendance à tomber dans ce piège. Il faut rendre un document pour la fin de la semaine, il faut ranger l’appartement avant les visites de ce soir, il faut faire les commissions pour le week-end, il faut réparer le rideau de la salle de bains, la lampe de chevet, il faut remplacer la sonnette défectueuse, il faut, il faut, il faut… ou peut-être pas. On se met trop souvent la pression inutilement.

 

Toutes ces sollicitations sont normales. Si on arrivait à ne percevoir en tant qu’alertes que les choses vraiment importantes pour lesquelles on est vraiment en retard, on vivrait des vies tellement plus calmes. Tellement plus proches de ce que l’on devrait être, de ce que la nature semble avoir fait de nous.

Après tout, nous sommes des superprédateurs, donc supposés être aussi tranquilles qu’un chat. Nous sommes plutôt des super-proies, aussi stressées que des souris. La nature, au-travers de ses odeurs, nous aide à revenir à notre état naturel.

"Symbiotes" --> symbiose, en harmonie avec tout.

Elle nous offre beaucoup d’huiles essentielles anti-stress. Et, cadeau suprême, les plantes déstressent de manières différentes les unes des autres. Quand on entend anti-stress, on pense fauteuil mais il y a dans l’aromathérapie un vaste choix de plantes qui nous relaxent. Attention de ne pas les enfermer dans une seule catégorie car elles peuvent également soigner. 

D’où viennent les huiles essentielles? 

 

En biologie végétale, les produits composés par les plantes sont subdivisés en deux groupes de molécules: les métabolites primaires et les métabolites secondaires.

  • Les molécules du premier groupe se trouvent dans toutes les cellules végétales, elles sont primaires car nécessaires à la vie de la plante: sucre, lipides, protéines, acides aminés.

  • Par contre, les molécules du deuxième groupe n’ont qu’une répartition limitée dans la plante et ne font pas partie des matériaux de base de la cellule. Ces composés ne se trouvent normalement que dans des tissus ou organes particuliers à des stades précis du développement. Ils sont secondaires parce qu’ils ne semblent pas être essentiels à la croissance végétale mais leur action est déterminante pour l’adaptation de la plante au milieu naturel : agents protecteurs contre les stress physiques, défense contre les agressions extérieures, pigmentation de la plante pour capter l’énergie solaire ou à l’opposé protéger l’organisme contre les effets nocifs induits par les radiations solaire.

Il existe trois classes principales de métabolites secondaires :

  • Les alcaloïdes comme la morphine, la caféine, la nicotine, la cocaïne, l’atropine

  • Les terpènes, c’est la plus grande catégorie de métabolites secondaires avec plus de 22 000 molécules. Elle contient les hormones végétales, les pigments, les stérols, les hétérosides et une grande partie d’huiles essentielles.

  • Les substances phénoliques ‘Composés aromatiques’ comme les flavonoïdes, les tanins, la lignine, les coumarines.

Les huiles essentielles et les essences sont donc des métabolites secondaires appartenant principalement à la classe des terpènes mais aussi à la classe des composés aromatiques. Actuellement, on connaît environ 3000 HE dont environ 350 sont commercialement importantes et destinées principalement à l’industrie pharmaceutique, à l’aromathérapie, à la cosmétique et à la parfumerie.

Les fonctions biologiques des HE sont multiples :

  • Ecologique pour la plante et son environnement grâce à son action contre les herbivores

  • Pollinisateurs en attirant les insectes non néfastes

  • Insecticides pour refouler le danger

  • Thérapeutique pour la santé et le bien-être des humains et des animaux. Elles sont en particulier appréciées pour leurs propriétés:

    • anti-bactériennes, antifongiques, antivirales et anti-parasitaires,

    • pour leurs propriétés anti-inflammatoires contre les affections musculaires et tendineuses

    • et pour leurs propriétés sédatives ou toniques contre les troubles liés au dysfonctionnement du système nerveux.

Aussi, leur utilisation dans le domaine cosmétique est très vaste, le domaine agro-alimentaire s’intéresse de plus en plus aux huiles essentielles pour la conservation des aliments et la médecine vétérinaire ‘tire profit’ des HE pour aider les animaux qui sont souvent soumis à des conditions d’élevage qui les rend de plus en plus susceptibles aux infections.

EN RÉSUMÉ

L’aromathérapie est un art superbe, et une science magnifiquement efficace et utile. Elle permet de soigner des infections, très difficiles à combattre avec la médecine conventionnelle comme les infections virales. Elle a besoin de la médecine conventionnelle aussi, et peut la soutenir pour calmer des effets secondaires de médicaments indispensables par exemple.

Elle permet de soigner facilement un grand nombre de bobos du quotidien. Un ou deux jours de cours, s’ils sont donnés par un bon enseignant, peuvent permettre à quiconque de soigner en tout sécurité, un bon nombre d’infections, pour soi-même ou dans la famille, même chez les enfants.

 

L’aromathérapie permet un soin holistique qui comprend les dimensions physiques, émotionnelles, psychiques et spirituelles de l’être humain.

Les plantes partagent leurs bienfaits par les huiles essentielles, tant par une interaction chimique directe que par leur énergie.

Les huiles essentielles sont un des moyens d’expression de la plante, un des fondements de son langage. Nous recevons, par elles, une aide de la Nature que nous devons avoir la gratitude de savoir recevoir. Utilisons correctement et avec reconnaissance ce que la planète nous offre et laissons-la nous faire du bien!

Conférence sur les huiles essentielles du Dr Jean-Pierre WILLEM, médecin et chirurgien, fondateur de l'association humanitaire Les Médecins aux Pieds Nus.

Il a aussi publié de nombreux ouvrages sur le thème des huiles essentielles.

 

OMEGALPHA Association

omegalpha.ml@gmail.com

N° SIRET: 84479637500013 Fréjus, Var - France